King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) recognizes excellence in 5 categories: Service to Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic Language & Literature, Medicine, and Science, since 1979

Dr. Zakir A. Naik

Winner of the  
KFIP Prize for  
(Please press on year/ category to customize the search)



Nationality: India

Sheikh Zakir Abdul Karim Naik
Dr. Zakir Naik is the President of the Islamic Research Foundation in India. He was awarded the King Faisal International Prize in recognition of his outstanding services to Islam, including the following:

1-     As one of the most renowned non-Arabic speaking promulgators of Islam, Dr. Zakir Naik has presented hundreds of public lectures and debates which explain the Islamic creed, defend its teachings and propagate its principles on the basis of the Holy Quran and authentic Sunna (sayings and deeds of the Prophet Muhammad).

2-         He has also paid considerable attention to comparative religion, and became a renowned authority on this subject throughout the Islamic nation. His vast religious knowledge is not limited to one faith but to several other religions including Christianity, Hindu, Judaism, Buddhism and Sikhism. He has even established a specialized organization for comparative religious studies and organized several training courses for scholars of this field worldwide.

3-         He has founded a television channel, Assalam (Peace Channel), which remains the only television channel in the world specializing in comparative religion. Its programs are broadcast in English, Urdu and Bangali languages and viewers of the English channel are estimated to exceed 100 millions.

4-         He has also established a series of schools, initially in India and subsequently in a number of Arabic and Islamic countries. These schools train non-Arab students from an early age on Arabic language and Quranic studies, in addition to regular classes of other curricula in English.

More about Awarding this Winner

Read the Press Release Read the Acceptance Speech Meet the Winner View the Honorary’s Certificate